Indie Writers into 2024

Clearing the clutter

Inspired by ‘X’ which is reliably infuriating I intend to devote 2024 to pursuing the work of independent writers and publishers. There are such a variety of them now, it is hard to keep tack let alone categorise them properly and orderly.

There are a few luminaries I wish to mention – before I forget – such as Blue Moose and Holbeck let alone my own deuteron which inevitably gets lost in the blizzard of new releases and upcoming talent.

I was pleased to read the entry below from the Portobello Book Blog which chimes nicely with the work of Sarah Harkness which I am following, I haven’t forgotten about her opus on the Macmillans (publishers) which will be out sometime this year. I am still trying to make some sense of Substack amidst the inevitable sellers of snake oil but will try to keep pace and hope that the algorithm will eventually shake down some of the more interesting offerings.

This is very much a living work in progress and far from a polished final offering – it is the easel where I do my work – as to whether it is my ‘best’ – maybe – but let us hope not.

My cobbled together ‘best of’ last year didn’t mention the helpful Louise Walters whom I am eternally grateful to.

I would also like to mention that the book that came out of Mendham Writers (other than my own) that has gone the most distance has now apparently sold over 500 copies and is in its second print run, thanks to the indefatigable efforts of the author Ron French.

Signing off now – but like most posts – fortunately they can be revisited. As I am my own boss there is no one to scold me that I could have taken it that little bit further. I do as I do and as I see fit in the fast moving digital publishing landscape.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close